Harwell Campus director Angus Horner has been named Leader of the Year in the Oxfordshire Property Awards for 2020.

Mr Horner’s success was announced at the end of this year’s online awards which were live streamed on YouTube on September 15, part of this year’s online UK Prop Fest.

As well as his director role at Harwell, Mr Horner is also a school governor, non-executive director of OxLEP and is on the campus’s cluster steering board and healthtec, space and energytec board.

He also has extensive social and charity roles.

After thanking the Harwell team and the wider stakeholders and shareholders,  Mr Horner said: “I would also like to say I feel privileged, not only to have won on behalf of all those people who have been working collectively together with me here at Harwell, but also privileged to be part of this extraordinary eco system.”

Harwell, he said, is driving ‘extraordinary benefits’ for society globally, locally and regionally and he thanked those involved at the campus.

He added: “I salute you all. It’s a great privilege and I am greatly honoured and thankful.”

The full list of winners:

Best Property Agent / Advisor (sponsored by Freeths)

Bidwells (winner)

VSL & Partners (highly commended)

Best Law Firm (sponsored by Milton Park)

Winckworth Sherwood (winner)

Blake Morgan (highly commended)

Best Planning Consultancy (sponsored by Harwell Campus)

Edgars (winner)

Carter Jonas (highly commended)

Best Residential Development (sponsored by Bidwells)

The Street, Graven Hill, Bicester – Adrian James Architects (winner)

Hayfield Views, Great Bourton – Hayfield Homes (highly commended)

Best Commercial Development (sponsored by Penningtons Manches Cooper)

Loft Oxford, Cowley Road Savills (winner)

SOLID, Chipping Norton (highly commended)

Award Best Interior (Cool & Funky) Space (sponsored by Savills)

OSI, Oxford – Bidwells (winner)

Infineum UK, Milton Hill, Abingdon – SRA Architects (highly commended)

Project of the Year (sponsored by Ridge)

The HB Allen Centre, Keble College, Oxford – Bidwells (winner)

Christ Church Centre, Oxford – Purcell (highly commended)

Young Person of the Year (sponsored by Stantec)

Jonty Ashworth, Bicester Motion (joint winner)

Monika Zemla, Harwell Campus (joint winner)

Martyn Dixon, Kier Construction (highly commended)

Leader of the Year (sponsored by Morgan Sindall)

Angus Horner, Harwell Campus

The event was filmed at Bicester Motion in conjunction with That Event Company (see a behind-the-scenes image below). It had been planned to take place at Keble College in front of 300 people on April 3 until lockdown stepped in. Judging took place early in the year.

Matthew Battle, managing director of UK Property Forums, who presented the awards, said: “I was really impressed with the range of submissions from right across the county. There was tremendously high quality which made the decisions very difficult.

“Given the restrictions at Keble College, we felt an online event was the best solution as we needed to have some certainty of when we could hold it. Although we had some technical issues, I would like to thank the teams at That Event Company and at Bicester Motion who helped us overcome the difficulties and have a successful event.”

Trophies for the winners will be delivered over the next few weeks.

Image (top): Angus Horner (left) and Matthew Battle and Hugh Blaza from UK Property Forums (right).

Image (below): Matthew Battle and Hugh Blaza.

The YouTube link to the event is https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=c6RpR-QPkJ0

© Thames Tap No 226 (powered by ukpropertyforums.com).

Please rate this article out of five stars below. You can comment too, using the form at the bottom of the page.